Marketing Metrics: Which Should You Be Tracking?

Learn which marketing metrics are essential for tracking to drive business growth and improve campaign performance. Discover key insights into metrics like engagement, conversions, and ROI in our detailed guide. Read more on Cloud Campaign's blog.

In 2020, we have the power of data at our hands like never before – and this can be incredibly valuable when making business decisions for ourselves and for our clients. Not only does data let us analyze our performance over time, but can help us refine our business and marketing strategies in order to maximize ROI.  With that said, there’s almost unlimited potential to the data that you can collect and what you do with it, so – which metrics are the most important to look at?  

In the world of marketing, you’ll want to know that you’re posting the very best content with the highest possible conversions, and looking at the following metrics be the key to determining that the time and money you are putting in is ultimately paying off.

Traffic: Measuring your traffic (both overall, and channel-specific) will give you a fantastic idea of where you stand, and how your performance has changed over time. Ideally, you’ll see a nice hockey stick curve in your traffic; indicating that you are reaching more consumers each and every day.  Traffic can be generated organically, or with paid search techniques; so be sure to measure both separately as well as together, to ensure that you know exactly where your traffic is coming from, and what it is costing you!

Engagement: Traffic is a key metric, though Engagement is arguably more important! If you are generating high quality content with effective messaging, your posts are far more likely to leave a lasting impression on your consumers; one that might lead to a conversion later on! Be sure to track your engagement and compare this data from post to post. This will help determine the type of content you should create in the future, when to post it, and to which platforms.

Conversion Rate: One of the most-discussed metrics in Sales and Marketing is Conversion Rate. Conversion Rate, for example, determines how many consumers you’ll need to get to your page in order to make x number of sales. This metric, combined with traffic, can help you determine exactly what it’ll cost you to earn revenue; and can help you make key budgeting decisions in the future. Additionally, you can test new landing pages, or alternative messaging to see what improves your conversion rate over time.

Bounce Rate: The lower the bounce rate, the better! Your bounce rate can be defined by the percentage of visitors who navigate off your site after viewing just one page. This metric is incredibly important, as you may be paying for “clicks” to your site using paid media, (PPC), and have those “clicks” ultimately not convert. If your bounce rate is high, it may be that your keywords need tweaking, or that your website needs a facelift. If a consumer doesn’t know where to go after clicking on your homepage, this can mean big problems for you bounce rate, and ultimately your conversion.  

Trending Keywords: Understanding the keywords that result in conversions will be key for maximizing your ROI. In the same way that the wrong keywords can increase your bounce rate and negatively impact your business, the right keywords can generate high-quality leads for consumers that are ready to spend money! Testing your keywords over time can be very helpful, and there are a number of great tools available to determine which may be the best for you to use.

Customer Acquisition Cost: The metrics above will all help you determine this incredibly important metric – your Customer Acquisition Cost. This metric will tell you how much money you need to spend, on average, earning a new customer. Neil Patel outlines the formula as: “Dividing all the costs spent on acquiring more customers (marketing expenses) by the number of customers acquired in the period the money was spent. For example, if a company spent $100 on marketing in a year and acquired 100 customers in the same year, their CAC is $1.00”. If your Customer Acquisition Cost is greater than the average amount that a customer will spend (the Lifetime Customer Value), you have yourself a problem!

Lifetime Customer Value: Your Lifetime Customer Value (LCV) tells you, on average, how much money you can expect each customer to spend on your product, or your clients’. Neil Patel’s flowchat illustrates how to calculate this! The higher your LCV, the better – and make sure it’s higher than your Customer Acquisition Cost!

Alongside these metrics, there are plenty more that you could be looking at – but these are some of the classic in Sales & Marketing. With marketing activities being so closely related to sales, it’s important to look at both in order to understand the impact that Marketing has on overall revenue. Tracking these metrics can help you scale your marketing efforts effectively – ultimately making your clients very happy. Let us know which of these you’ve been tracking so far, and if you think there are any more that are important to look at.

Find us on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter or LinkedIn, and let our team know!

Product Updates

Here's to 2022! What to Expect From Cloud Campaign This Year

Learn about the exciting plans Cloud Campaign has in store for 2023 and how they will benefit your agency and social media management strategy.

Read more
January 12, 2022
CC in the News

2022 State of the Social Media Agency Report reveals new trends and best practices for social media marketing agencies

Our 2022 State of the Social Media Agency Report is out, revealing the latest trends and best practices for social media marketing agencies. Learn about the key insights and takeaways to help your agency stay ahead of the curve in the ever-evolving social media landscape.

Read more
January 5, 2022
SMM Tips

Top 10 Social Media Content Ideas for Anyone

Need inspiration for your social media content? This article offers 10 ideas for creating engaging and shareable content, including user-generated content, behind-the-scenes glimpses, and more.

Read more
March 27, 2023
SMM Tips

How to Manage Your Instagram Content Calendar

Managing your Instagram content calendar can be overwhelming, but this article provides tips and best practices for organizing your content and staying on track.

Read more
March 13, 2023
Agency Tips

5 Tips for Starting Your Own Marketing Agency

Starting a marketing agency can be challenging, but this article offers five tips to help you get started, including defining your niche, building a strong team, and more.

Read more
July 15, 2021
Agency Tips

Where Do You Find Social Media Marketing Clients?

If you're a social media marketer looking for clients, this article provides tips on where to find them, including networking, online platforms, and more.

Read more
July 9, 2021